December 9, 2007

My Favorite Breakfast Ever!

Posted in Breakfast at 7:14 pm by jaweber

1/2 cup scottish oats
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup skim milk
10 grams freshly ground organic peanut butter
10 grams toasted walnuts
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
pinch of sea salt
drizzle of REAL maple syrup
1 banana

in a small saucepan mix together the oats, water, milk, salt, vanilla and chopped banana. Stir constantly til creamy and thick. The banana will “melt” into the oatmeal and make it thick and wonderful. At the same time, heat up some water in a tea kettle. When the oatmeal is done, remove from stove, put in bowl and mix in peanut butter. Top with walnuts and maple syrup. When the tea kettle whistles, pour water over bag of english breakfast tea in your favorite mug. Add a splash of milk or splenda if you wish.

Enjoy!

This is my daily breakfast and I couldn’t live without it….keeps me going for hours.

about 425 calories
serves 1

note: i started using the walnuts in this recipe after reading Kath’s blog (hi, kath!) and loooove the addition. before, I always just used 1 tbsp peanut butter and 1 cup skim milk. I like this new version though much more because I love the crunch of the extra nuts! yay! (Plus, I really can’t taste the difference with only using 1/2 cup skim milk and the rest water. I would much rather use those calories towards something I can crunch on, like walnuts!)

Leave a Reply

